FujiFilm x100F Day One test

FujiFilm x100F camera, day one, testing without cracking the manual open (as yet … and yes, I’ll read it cover-to-cover several times over).

First test shot, Aperture Priority:

Crazy-high ISO (read, 3200!), but still came out more than acceptable in the final result (pixel-peep to see the noise/grain) for web use and general tom-foolery. And of course, my trusty sidekick was around to be my Guinea pig.

Second test shot, still Aperture Priority, with Acros film simulation (2500 ISO):

She really, really dislikes the Auto-Focus beeping.

Finally, we went out to test some outdoor shots at the pavilion mall nearby. There was hardly a soul around … figures, right? The below was a complete blind shot, not looking through the viewfinder nor the LCD on the back of the camera. Obviously 1/60 shutter speed selected automatically wasn’t quite enough, and I should have used continuous focus rather than single-shot. But, I just wanted to test. Back in my DSLR days, I rarely shot auto-anything (as far as the exposure triangle … I found auto-focus to be pretty spot on with my old gear). I’ll put this little rig through its paces over the next few months to see what it’s capable of handling, and decide from there what I need to manually set.

But with only dabbling for about a dozen shots, most of them testing the various film simulations in jpg files, I am duly impressed with this camera. It’s got mojo and soul. Lots of it. Fuji was a bit color-blind when it came to labeling the box for my tele-converter lens, however. Ordered black, and got silver from Amazon. Can’t blame Amazon, as the outer shipping box straight from Fuji had a “black” label on it. The inner product box was correctly labeled silver, though. It does give off that quasi-Leica vibe with the black body and silver attachment lens, and my son really likes the two-tone look, so I kept it. Black… silver… they both take the same quality of photos.

Leave a Reply

